Category Archives: Other Motorsports

Speedway Motorsports and Global RallyCross Ink Partnership to Host Series in 2012

Credit: ESPN

HICKORY, N.C. —  It was announced earlier today during a press conference in Las Vegas that four Speedway Motorsports (SMI) properties will play host to the Global RallyCross Championship (GRC) series in 2012.

The four SMI events will help build a six-race 2012 schedule for the GRC.  At each of the SMI venues the GRC will be serving as a companion event to either a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series or IZOD IndyCar Series event.

The dates scheduled for SMI properties are as follows:

Bobby Gerhart Wins Eighth Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200

Credit: ARCA

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Just hours before the green flag would drop on the 34th running of the Budweiser Shootout, a green-white-checkered finish led to a thrilling start to Speedweeks 2012 as Bobby Gerhart kicked off the 60th anniversary of the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards with his third consecutive victory – and eighth overall – in the Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 at Daytona International Speedway.

“That last lap was like a dream,” said Gerhart, who led only the final lap and has now won the season opener six of the last eight years. “I had a good run and went for the lead. It was unbelievable.”

After Gerhart’s pole-winning qualifying run around the 2.5-mile tri-oval was disallowed, the team took a provisional and started the race from the 42nd position.

Rain Delays World Of Outlaws Sprint Car Season Opener

Credit: WoO

BARBERVILLE, Fla. — Mother Nature was a villain Friday night at Volusia Speedway Park.

A couple of rainstorms washed out the World of Outlaws season opener in Barberville, Fla., shortly after qualifying had concluded at the 41st annual UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment. Tomorrow’s race will remain as scheduled with Friday’s event set to resume on Sunday afternoon. Hot laps begin at 12:30 p.m.

“It’s always disappointing to have that happen, but there’s nothing you can do about Mother Nature,” twenty-time World of Outlaws champion Steve Kinser said. “There is always tomorrow.”

Richards Ends Lanigan’s Domination Of Bubba Raceway Park In Friday-Night 50-Lapper

Credit: WoO

OCALA, Fla – Josh Richards got the best of Darrell Lanigan on Friday night, ending his friendly rival’s domination of World of Outlaws Late Model Series action at Bubba Raceway Park with a hard-fought victory in the 50-lap Bubba Army Late Model Winter Nationals A-Main.

Richards, 23, of Shinnston, W.Va., made WoO LMS history in the process, becoming the national tour’s alltime winningest driver. He won for the 38th time in his career, moving him out of tie for first with Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., on the checkered flag list that includes races run in the modern era (2004-present) and the original 1988-89 seasons contested under late WoO Sprint Car Series founder Ted Johnson.

Corr Wins First Menards Pole Award At Daytona; Times Disallowed For Gerhart, Three Other Drivers

Credit: ARCA

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Sean Corr needed just 49.271 seconds to finish his best lap around Daytona International Speedway, but had to wait several hours to win his first Menards Pole Award presented by Ansell.

Corr will start first in the opening race of the 60th season for the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, having been awarded the Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 pole after original polesitter Bobby Gerhart saw his time taken off the board for an engine inspection failure after qualifying.

Corr, 27, of Goshen, N.Y., started eighth in a 2010 race at Pocono, but has never been higher at the green flag. The original surprise of his No. 82 Empire Racing/United Way Ford so significantly improving its best performance was easily surpassed by the astonishment over his late move from second to first.

Porsche 911 GT3 RSR Fast Becoming Driver Favorite At Sebring Debut

Credit: ALMS

Sebring, Fla. — After more than 12 hours of testing over two days at Sebring International Raceway, the drivers of the 2012 Porsche 911 GT3 RSR have declared the new race car race-worthy and ready to tackle the tough competition that faces it in the upcoming American Le Mans Series.

Patrick Long, from Bellair, Fla., Flying Lizard Motorsports driver who gave the media attendees a walk-around of the carat this week’s winter test session for the March 17 60th Anniversary of the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh from Florida, said that everyone made huge progress during the test.

“We brought our lap times down almost two seconds from the first hour to the last hour of this test weekend, unusual for this track, which tends to be bumpy enough to distract you from the task at hand.  The new RSR has a different feel than the previous model, and this process really challenges your race crew and engineers as well as the drivers, so good…

New Faces Coming to the UARA for 2012

Credit: Drew Hierwarter for UARA

HENDERSONVILLE, N.C. — The UARA is full speed with preparations for the 2012 race season. There will be new teams and new faces coming to the plate with just as much determination as the seasoned veterans that will be making their return in 2012. Three such young guns will be Ben Rhodes, Dillon Bassett and Devin Jones.

Ben Rhodes is a fourteen year old from Louisville, KY who has signed on with Marcos Ambrose Motorsports for the 2012 season. Rhodes is filling in the seat left vacant by 2011 UARA Rookie of the Year George Miedecke. Rhodes will be contending for the title in the UARA for 2012. The car will be maintained by Jamie Yelton’s Fat Head Racing with legendary NASCAR crew member Lee McCall serving as Crew Chief. “I am looking forward to driving for Marcos Ambrose Motorsport,” said Rhodes. “It has been an honor getting to know Marcos this season, and I cannot wait until I drive for his team full time.”. Rhodes has been doing extensive testing with the FHR team during the off season in preparation for the upcoming season.

PASS National Series To Feature Some Of Nation’s Most Famed Short Tracks

Credit: PASS

NAPLES, ME – Pro All Stars Series (PASS) officials announced today the seven venues that will make up the 2012 PASS National Championship schedule. The PASS National Championship is comprised of seven races that combines select events from the PASS South and PASS North schedules to crown the nation’s only true Super Late Model Champion. The PASS National Championship will be contested at some of the country’s most famous short tracks including: Hickory (NC) Motor Speedway, Stafford (CT) Motor Speedway, White Mountain (NH) Motorsports Park, Beech Ridge (ME) Motor Speedway, Fairgrounds Speedway in Nashville, TN, Caraway (NC) Speedway, and Concord (NC) Speedway.

“The 2012 PASS National Championship will be staged at seven of the most iconic racing venues in the United States,” said PASS President Tom Mayberry. “Not only will the PASS National schedule be comprised with some great race tracks, but it will be encompassed by some of the biggest…